Tessa Virtue

Tessa Virtue

Figure Skating — ICE DANCE LEGEND

2020 Order of Canada 
2022 Guest Analyst, Beijing 2022, CBC Olympics
2018 Two-Time Olympic Gold Medalist
2018 Opening Ceremonies Flag Bearer
2018 Canada Walk of Fame Inductee
2017, 2012 & 2010 World Champion
2016 Grand Prix Final Gold Medalist
2014 Two-Time Olympic Silver Medalist
2010 Olympic Gold Medalist
Social Followers: Instagram, 389,000; Twitter, 137,700
Hometown: London, Ontario

Ice dance has had its share of iconic moments.

Perhaps none more so than the Bolero free dance of British pair of Torvill and Dean that earned perfect scores at the 1984 Olympic Games.

But for many Canadians, that moment was replaced by the home-crowd performance delivered by Tessa Virtue and Scott Moir in Vancouver 2010 to become the youngest Ice Dance champions in Olympic history.

The golden duo, however, was not content.

The partnership that started when she was seven and he was nine would continue through to Sochi 2014, in search of their own Bolero – an artistic and athletic performance that would define the pair’s legacy.

They danced beautifully and despite a season-best, settled for silver.

After countless unforgettable moments with Scott, the pair decided to take some personal time to seek new challenges off the ice for the first time since they began their ice dancing careers together.

Tessa's shown her range and versatility on a training feature for Strong Fitness Magazine and cover feature for Best Health Magazine, and was welcomed to the adidas Canada family as the face of women's training.

As a two-time cover girl for Canada’s Real Style Magazine, and with a recent feature in Vogue Japan, Tessa has been able to extend her on-ice interests in beauty and artistry while building a presence in Canada’s fashion community as a consistent presence on Toronto’s red carpets.

During their break, Tessa and Scott believed that they still had the competitive fire and artistic depth to make a return to their third Olympics which they announced live on CBC's Road to the Olympics.

It was in PyeongChang 2018, where Tessa and Scott captured the imagination of the world with emotionally-charged and provocative performances, drawing on twenty years of creative commitment to one another.

In the Team Event, they willed their compatriots to victory with beautiful performances, and, perhaps more importantly, through their cheerleading as team captains.

Then, in the Short Program and the memorable crescendo of their now-timeless Free Dance, they skated magically to Baz Luhrmann's Moulin Rouge earning their second gold medal of the Olympics. 

It was their fifth medal overall making them the most decorated figure skaters in Olympic history.

Applauded internationally as the sweethearts of the Games and revered as Canadian royalty, they had truly found their own Bolero.

Now free of the constraints of competitive skating, Tessa and Scott have launched a new initiative to reach Canadian fans from coast-to-coast.

As the co-creators of the Thank You Canada Tour, which visited the small towns they usually fly over with bigger shows, they explored their newfound creative freedom and had the chance to give back to the communities that had supported their careers.

In 2019, in their final tour, the pair rocked the rink with a blend of incomparable artistry, live music and their greatest performances and created memorable moments across Canada by welcoming talented Special Olympics athletes to perform solos to promote inclusivity. 

Now retired from ice dance, Tessa continues to be a strong advocate for female empowerment and works closely with FitSpirit, ­­­­­­­an organization whose mission is to raise public awareness around the problem of declining participation in sport among pre-teen and teenage girls.

An ambitious academic, Tessa is currently pursuing an MBA at Smith School of Business and will look to channel her entrepreneurial spirit into her next role:


Hayley Wickenheiser


Mark Messier

John Herdman

Carey Price

Mark McMorris

Mitch Marner

Brad Gushue

Tessa Virtue

Jon Montgomery

Natalie Spooner

Meaghan Mikkelson


Charles Hamelin

Alannah Yip

Luke Prokop

Brendan Gallagher

Noah Bowman

Jade Iginla

Juraj Slafkovsky

Kirby Dach

Marielle Thompson

Brady Leman

Reece Howden

Brooke D'Hondt

Kaillie Humphries

Craig McMorris

Gilmore Junio

Aaron Brown

Rosie MacLennan

Melissa Bishop

Skylar Park

Matt Berger

Spencer O'Brien

Erik Guay

Josh Dueck

Patrick Anderson

ERIN Brooks