Gilmore Junio

Speed Skating — PyeongChang 2018

2014 Olympic Games – 10th Place (500m)
​2016 World Cup Bronze Medalist (Heerenveen)
2015 World Cup Gold Medalist (Inzell)
2013 World Cup Gold Medalist (Salt Lake City)
2012 World Cup Silver Medalist (Nagano)
Social Followers: Twitter, 7,040; Instagram, 2,344; Facebook, 580

For many Canadians who watched the Sochi Olympics, one story resonated with us.

It wasn’t the eventual triumph of the men’s hockey team; the double-podium performances in moguls, ski cross or ski slopestyle; or even the incredible now-part-of-hockey-history comeback by the women’s team over the USA.

It was a story of sportsmanship, teamwork and humanity that meant the most to Canada.

Gilmore Junio, a self-effacing young speed skater at his first Olympics, did something that touched the core of our values as citizens and not just sports fans: He gave his spot in the 1000m to teammate Denny Morrison, who had missed qualifying in the discipline after a fall at the Canadian Trials.

When Morrison went on to win silver, the friends celebrated a truly beautiful moment together.

Gilmore left Sochi with a 10th place finish in the 500m and the satisfaction of knowing that his selflessness had lead to greater success for the Canadian Olympic Team.

And Canada took notice.

A Toronto-based design firm had lead a "Thanks Gilmore" crowd-sourced fundraising campaign to create a medal to commemorate his selfless act.

Now, with his second Olympics in front of him, Gilmore's out to prove that nice guys can finish first.

With a quick start to the 2015-16 season, including a World Cup win in the 500m in Germany, he's establishing his one-to-watch status as a legitimate podium threat.

In Pyeongchang 2018, with all of Canada behind him, he’ll look to bring home an Olympic medal of his very own.

And of course, he'll share it with us.

Tessa Virtue

Mark McMorris

Hayley Wickenheiser

Mitch Marner

Shea Weber

Natalie Spooner

Meaghan Mikkelson

Kaillie Humphries

Spencer O'Brien

Charles Hamelin

Noah Bowman

Scott Moir


Denny Morrison

Gilmore Junio

Georgia Simmerling

Keltie Hansen

TJ Schiller

Craig McMorris

Marielle Thompson

Erik Guay

François Hamelin

Team Jacobs

Josh Dueck

Rosie MacLennan

Melissa Bishop

Heather Bansley

Erica Wiebe

Taylor Pischke

John Herdman

Jon Montgomery

Adam van Koeverden

Maëlle Ricker

Nolan Patrick