Adam van Koeverden

Adam van Koeverden

Kayaking — Rio 2016

Member of Parliament, Milton (2019)
2012 Olympic Silver Medalist, K1 1000m
2008 Olympic Silver Medalist, K1 500m
2004 Olympic Gold & Bronze Medalist, K1 500m, 1000m
2011 & 2007 World Champion
2004 Lou Marsh Award Recipient
79-Time Canadian Champion
Social Followers: Twitter, 42,900; Facebook, 26,000; Instagram, 17,300

Advocate. Spokesperson. Generational Talent.

Adam van Koeverden has simply been Canada's most dominant summer Olympian for over a decade.

At just 22, he was the country's only double medalist of the Athens Olympics capturing gold in the K1 500m just a day after claiming bronze in the K1 1000m.

He was honoured as Canada’s Closing Ceremonies flag-bearer and received the 2004 Lou Marsh Award as the Canadian Athlete of the Year.

In 2008, Adam carried the flag for Canada into the Bird’s Nest Stadium at the Beijing Olympics with the goal of becoming the first kayaker to ever defend a K1 500m Olympic title.

But after breaking his own world-record in the heats, Adam was narrowly-beaten in the final by his good friend Ken Wallace from Australia, and won silver.

But it's what he's done out of the water that has come to define his legacy.

When his father was diagnosed with Parkinson's Disease, Adam became a vocal advocate for finding a cure and increasing awareness about the long-term battle his father now faces.

And, as an Ambassador for Right to Play and the David Suzuki Foundation, he's engaged thousands of children in schools across Canada about the importance of healthy and active living, community involvement, and our shared environmental responsibility.

An accomplished public speaker, Adam sees these opportunities as the "most rewarding obligation" for Canada's Olympians.

He's also established a high standard for many of the members of Team Canada through his personal commitment and on-going athlete leadership work with the Canadian Olympic Committee.

In 2019, Adam was elected as the Member of Parliament for the riding of Milton, Ontario and will be taking his voice and passionate commitment to his constituents to the nation's capitol.

Tessa Virtue


Carey Price


Mitch Marner

Mark McMorris

Taylor Hall

Hayley Wickenheiser

Aaron Brown

Rosie MacLennan

Melissa Bishop

Skylar Park

Matt Berger

Ashley Lawrence

Finn Iles

Erica Wiebe

Heather Bansley

Georgia Simmerling

Patrick Anderson

Mark de Jonge

Taylor Pischke

Natalie Spooner

Meaghan Mikkelson

Kaillie Humphries

Spencer O'Brien

Brooke D'Hondt

Charles Hamelin

Noah Bowman

Craig McMorris


Brady Leman

Marielle Thompson


Denny Morrison

Gilmore Junio


TJ Schiller

Erik Guay

Josh Dueck

John Herdman

Jon Montgomery

Adam van Koeverden

Maëlle Ricker

Shea Weber

Brendan Gallagher